Malawi

On the 17th I will be leaving the cool, green shores of England for the warmer climes of Malawi. I’ve known this for a while but avoided writing it up here after what happened last time, when I announced I was going to Thailand only to then find out that I couldn’t go. But this time I’ve bought the plane tickets, gotten my vaccinations done, and gathered together the information required to apply for a visa once I arrive. I still have stuff to do but everything is slowly coming together.

I will be in Malawi for 6 months. I can’t wait! I will be going on a course organised by a group called Youth With a Mission (YWAM) and there will be others on this course as well, although I won’t know who they are or where they come from or even how many of us there will be until I get there. What I will be doing on the course is still a little hazy for me; the first half will be spent in discipleship, mainly looking at God’s character, I think. We will also be learning about issues of justice and how this is viewed through the Bible, as well as more practical aspects I assume. The second half will then be spent carrying out what we’ve learned. What this will look like no one really knows. Once everyone has arrived, we’ll pray about it and look at the different gifts and passions that people have and then decide. It might be that there are a few separate groups that go and do different things.

So, why am I doing such a thing? I love going to visit different places, want to find out what I really want to do with my life at least in the near future, and also want to really root myself and my faith in God. This seemed like a great opportunity to do all of those things – especially as I’ve recently been discovering a passion for sexually trafficked children. So learning about this on the course is like an added bonus, although I chose the course particularly because it had a focus on justice. I’d like to look at all the different options that are open to me if I decide to work in this sort of area, and learn my strengths and gifts so that I can really help. It’s a bit difficult for me to really articulate right now. I still know so little about human trafficking, or what I really want to do with regards to this, which is why I’m so looking forward to this course. Hoping there will be some clarity so that I can really look forward practically.

Less than a week to go now! I’ll be updating this blog while I’m away so drop by and then I’ll be able to tell you what I’m doing and you’ll get a better idea of what’s going on! I’ll also drop prayer requests. Right now the only requests I really have are that I would be organised and get things done before I have to leave! My procrastination is kicking in with a vengeance right now and I’m struggling a little to kick it back!

Leave a Reply

